The final stretch

image

Now that I’m getting settled into life back home and indoors, I’d like to share some shots from the final 89 miles of the Pacific Crest Trail.

image

Leaving Stehekin, the forecast called for rain but the day started out sunny.

image

My belly was full of treats from the Stehekin Bakery. My last chance to eat like a thru-hiker!

image

The day after departing from Stehekin, it started to snow. A lot. This is Five Star in front of me.

image

In the snow, I thought a lot about the trail behind me and the sun in Stehekin. I also thought of the hikers already finished with the trail and those behind me.

image

The snow kept coming and I started to wonder if I could make it to Canada. On day three, we faced bolder-sized washouts along the trail. We struggled across the washouts in the snow and worried about the passes ahead. The snow was getting deep and we could no longer make out the trail in some places.

image

From sunny to a snowscape. The last two days on the trail challenged me like nothing before.

image

And then, somehow, Canada.

image

With Alif at Manning Park, Canada. It’s still hard to wrap my head and heart around this: I walked from Mexico to Canada.

