Before me

Lately, my thoughts have been on my grandparents. Specifically, my paternal grandfather, Charles Robert, and my maternal grandmother, Velma. On California section K, page 3 of my maps, I discovered the Velma Lakes, seen here. When I saw in the lakes in person, they were small--barely visible from the trail--but memorable. I'd imagine that's how might grandmother might describe herself, too.

Lately, my thoughts have been on my grandparents. Specifically, my paternal grandfather, Charles Robert, and my maternal grandmother, Velma. On California map section K, page 3, I discovered the Velma Lakes. When I saw in the lakes in person, they were small–barely visible from the trail–but memorable. I’d imagine that’s how might grandmother might describe herself, too. My grandmother is one of the smartest people I know and the most adventurous–at least in terms of where she lets her mind wander in the books she reads.

My grandfather and my step-grandmother on their wedding day in the early 60s. He was also an avid reader. One of my clearest memories of him: sitting in his big white chair, his face in a book.
My grandfather and my step-grandmother on their wedding day in the early 60s. He was also an avid reader. One of my clearest memories of him: sitting in his big white chair, his face in a book.

 

