Women on the trail

Although I've met more women on the PCT than I did on the Appalachian Trail in 2006, women are still scarce on the trail. My unscientific guess is that women represent only 20-30 percent of thru-hikers on the trail. So meeting women, especially solo hikers like myself, is special. This is Abbi (aka Other World) and we spent a couple of days hiking, chatting and camping together. Thank you, Other World, for the lovely company.

Although I’ve met more women on the PCT than I did on the Appalachian Trail in 2006, women are still scarce on the trail. My unscientific guess is that women represent only 20-30 percent of thru-hikers on the trail. So meeting women, especially solo hikers like myself, is special. This is Abbi (aka Other World) and we spent a couple of days hiking, chatting and camping together. Thank you, Other World, for the lovely company.

Close up: Other World uses her toes to keep her water filter in a creek as she pumps water.
Close up: Other World uses her toes to keep her water filter in a creek as she pumps water.

 

