Real magic

After a rough couple of days on the trail, I hitchhiked into Truckee with another hiker in an attempt to raise my spirits...with Dairy Queen. While we sat in the parking lot, Barb and Ernie rolled up on the bikes and began talking to my friend, Abbie. Within minutes, they offered to welcome us into their homes. This night truly lifted my morale and I was ready to hike again the next morning.

After a rough couple of days on the trail, I hitchhiked into Truckee with another hiker in an attempt to raise our spirits…with Dairy Queen. As we sat in the parking lot, Barb and Ernie rolled up on the bikes and began talking to my friend, Abbie. Within minutes, they offered to welcome us into their home. Their kindness and warmth lifted my morale.

Ernie and Barb welcomed Abbie and me into their home: they let us take showers, do laundry and cooked us both dinner and breakfast. Thank you, Barb and Ernie!
Ernie and Barb welcomed two complete strangers into their home: they let us take showers, do laundry, and cooked us dinner and breakfast. I was down and blue when a entered their home, but left full of cookies, French toast, and joy. Thank you, Barb and Ernie.

 

