The walk to Whitney

After departing Lone Pine, I returned to the PCT and then departed again to summit Mt. Whitney. This is Guitar Lake along the way.

After departing Lone Pine, I returned to the PCT and then departed again to summit Mt. Whitney. This is Guitar Lake along the way.

My campsite at Guitar Lake.

My campsite at Guitar Lake.

The next morning Ieft my tent at Guitar Lake and headed up towards Whitney

The next morning left my tent at Guitar Lake and headed up towards Whitney

The assent wasn't too bad; this was the only snow I came across.

The assent wasn’t too bad; this was the only snow I came across.

At the top. Mt. Whitney is the tallest mountain in the US outside of Alaska. The hike up was stunning and well worth the extra day of food I lugged along with me.

At the top. Mt. Whitney is the tallest mountain in the US outside of Alaska. The hike up was stunning and well worth the extra day of food I lugged along with me.

