No joke

Shortly after leaving the hot springs, I had a run in with a rattlesnake, slipped down a small embankment, and twisted my ankle on a footbridge. Then I saw this sign. Thanks, PCT, for the helpful reminder.

Shortly after leaving the hot springs, I had a run-in with a rattlesnake, slipped down a small embankment, and twisted my ankle on a footbridge. Then I saw this rock. Thanks, PCT, for the helpful reminder.

This isn't the above-mentioned rattlesnake. This little guy was caught by another hiker, had its photo take and was then released. I met a large rattlesnake after the hot springs that wasn't interested in moving. The canyon was too steep to go around the snake. So I asked nicely. Nothing.  Tossed pebbles at it. Nada. I waited for a bit and then scrambled up a rock face to get away from the rattling snake.
This isn’t the above-mentioned rattlesnake. This little guy was caught by another hiker, had its photo taken, and was released. I met a large rattlesnake after the hot springs that wasn’t interested in moving. The canyon was too steep to go around the snake. So I asked nicely. Nothing. Tossed pebbles at it. Nada. I waited for a bit. Eventually, I scrambled up a rock face to get away from the rattling snake.

 

